Dear Next Years Students

 

So, it is now the time to think back at another school year that has passed. I can think back at what I have accomplished, in what ways I have failed and what I wish I did differently or what I could have changed before I left for summer vacation. But the school year is over, for better and for worse. I`ve learned a lot this year. Not only academically, but personly. I`ve learned about myself. I have learned how I can handle challenges, like using computers instead of books in my class. It was hard at first, but it has turned out to be a great thing for me.

The most important thing that I take with me from this school year is that I can do and achieve almost anything, as long as I put my effort into it.

This year has been filled with choices. Difficult ones, important ones and easy ones. I choose to apply to attend at Savdika High School, to be in a class that doesn’t use books and I have chosen what subjects I want to have next year. All of these decisions are big and important. Every choice we make shapes us to becoming who we are, and who we will be. Not only big decisions like I mentioned over, but also small ones. Whether or not you choose to smile to that girl that sits alone in the cantine, is also a choice that shapes you as a person.

In class today I watched tree commencements speeches, they were by Ellen DeGeneres, Joanne Kathleen Rowling, and Steven Spielberg. I found them all inspiring and instructive. The tree speeches were different. Ellen focused most on that the students she held the speech for should follow their passion, be who they are and to not listen to advice. She wanted the students to be true to themselves. J.K., on the other hand, talked most about failure, and to learn from your mistakes. Whereas Steven focused on character developing moments.  I liked Ellen DeGenereses speech the most. I found her speech most honest, it appealed to me. Here is a quote from Ellen`s speech at Tulane University (2009).

“My idea of success is different today and as you grow you will realize that the definition of success changes. To me, the most important thing in life is to live your life with integrity and not to give into peer pressure and be something that you are not. To live your life as an honest and compassionate person and to contribute in some way.” 

My advice for students that are planning to attend their high school years at Sandvika High School, or any other school for that matter is to take chances, make decisions and learn from your mistakes. Every choice shapes you as a person, remember that.

Good luck, next year’s students.

 

 

-Ingrid

 

One thought on “Dear Next Years Students

Leave a Reply

